top of page

Planning Committee

Professor of Pharmacy and Medicine
Director, Anti-Infective Research Laboratory
Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI

Dr Rybak is also Adjunct Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, School of Medicine at Wayne State University, and Adjunct Clinical Professor at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. He is affiliated with the Detroit Medical Center and is a member of their antimicrobial stewardship committee. His research focus is antimicrobial pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics (PK/PD) and the assessment of infectious diseases health outcomes including their relationship to bacterial resistance. Dr. Rybak is funded by the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and via several investigator initiated grants from the pharmaceutical Industry. He has published more than 400 manuscripts and authored more than 20 book chapters on antimicrobial PK/PD resistance, and antimicrobial stewardship. He is the editor-in-chief of the journal Infectious Diseases and Therapy, scientific editor for Infectious Diseases for the journal Pharmacotherapy, and editorial board member for the journal Antibiotics and for Contagion. Dr. Rybak is the recipient of a number of scholarship awards including the ACCP and ASHP awards for sustained contributions to the literature, the ACCP Therapeutics Frontiers Lecture award, and the ACCP Infectious Diseases Practice Network Distinguished Investigator award.

Michael J. Rybak, PharmD, MPH, PhD, FCCP, FIDP
Kerry L. LaPlante, PharmD, FCCP, FIDSA

Dean of Pharmacy
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, RI
Adjunct Professor of Medicine
Brown University
Providence, RI

Dr. LaPlante is an infectious diseases pharmacotherapy specialist, fellowship director, and research program director of the Rhode Island Infectious Diseases research program at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Providence, RI. She earned her Bachelor of Science in biology, with a psychology minor at Canisius College in Buffalo,NY, a BS in biopharmaceutical sciences, and a Doctor of Pharmacy from Wayne State University in Detroit, MI. She completed a post-doctoral fellowship in infectious diseases pharmacotherapy at the Anti-Infective Research Laboratory at Wayne State University, where she also served as president of the Wayne County Pharmacy Association. Dr. LaPlante is internationally known for her expertise in antibiotic therapy and has extensively researched biofilms and how optimal antimicrobial use prevents resistance and improves patient outcomes. She advocates for the profession with annual visits to Capitol Hill working closely with PEW Charitable Trusts to encourage Congress to increase funding for infectious diseases research, and expansion of pharmacy services. She isa past president of the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists, an elected Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and SIDP. She has given over 100 invited lectures globally and published over120 peer-reviewed articles throughout her career in high impacts peer-reviewed journals. Her contributions include authorship on the 2021 American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) C. difficile treatment guidelines. She has also published a book titled “Antimicrobial Stewardship Principles and Practices.” Available on Amazon. Her research program has received continuous, uninterrupted funding and implemented research grants totaling more than $20 million from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Veterans Affairs, and Investigator-Initiated Research within the pharmaceutical industry. She currently serves as the Director of the Pharmacology Core on the Rhode Island NIH-COBRE Center for Antimicrobial Resistance and Therapeutic Discovery(1P20GM121344-01A1), and as a member of the Antimicrobial Resistance Leadership Group (ARLG), pharmacokinetics subcommittee. Her research as a pharmacist-scientist is multidisciplinary and brings together colleagues in nursing and medicine. Dr. LaPlante has a passion for cooking, cheering on her favorite sports team (Buffalo Bills) and entertaining friends at home with her husband Seth, their two children, and their dog Biscuit

Associate Dean of Pharmacy
Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI

Dr. Davis is a graduate of the University of Michigan and completed her residency training at Detroit Receiving Hospital, and a fellowship in Infectious Diseases Outcomes Research at Wayne State University (WSU). She has published over 70 peer-reviewed manuscripts in topics of antimicrobial pharmacotherapy and is the program director for the Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Fellowship in antimicrobial stewardship at Wayne State University and Henry Ford Hospital. Dr. Davis presently serves on the WSU Academic Senate and is Vice President of Making a Difference in Infectious Diseases. She is active in many other professional associations, including serving as president-elect of the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists (SIDP). Dr. Davis’ awards for practice, teaching and research include the American Society of Health System Pharmacists New Preceptor of the Year, SIDP Clinician of the Year, and the Wayne State University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Research Excellence Award. When not attending meetings, Dr. Davis enjoys training pharmacy fellows, residents and students in antimicrobial stewardship practice and research.

Susan L. Davis, PharmD

Infectious Diseases and Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist
Stanford Antimicrobial Safety and Sustainability Program
Stanford Health Care
Stanford, CA

Dr. Ha is manager of antimicrobial stewardship with the Stanford Antimicrobial Safety and Sustainability Program at Stanford Health Care and lecturer in infectious diseases at the Stanford University School of Medicine in Palo Alto, CA. He also serves as PGY2 infectious diseases pharmacy residency program coordinator at Stanford Health Care. His professional and research interests include antimicrobial stewardship, infectious diseases pharmacotherapy, and public health.

David R. Ha, PharmD, BCIDP

Meghan N. Jeffres, PharmD

Associate Professor
Department of Clinical Pharmacy, Clinical Specialist

University of Colorado Hospital,

University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus,

Aurora, Colorado


MAD-ID Continuing Education Director
Norwood, MA

Ali comes to MAD-ID from Harvard University where he managed the T.H. Chan School of Public Health’s Doctor of Public Health Program and, most recently, serves as Accreditation Coordinator at Harvard Medical School’s Office of External Education, where he manages a portfolio of 100+ accredited activities annually. Ali studied Biology at Amherst College in Massachusetts and received a Master of Science in Environmental Science and Policy from George Mason University in Virginia. He currently lives in Massachusetts where he spends most of his time chasing around his two kids under two.

Alexander “Ali” Hendren

MAD-ID Executive Coordinator 

Kenora, ON, CAN

Lindsay Williams 

Lindsay is a clinical pharmacist at the Lake of the Woods District Hospital in Kenora, Ontario, Canada. She is also the Co-chair of their Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee. Lindsay completed the MAD-ID Advanced Antimicrobial Stewardship Training Program in 2018 and enjoyed it so much that she was eager to become a part of the MAD-ID team when the opportunity arose. In her free time, Lindsay enjoys creative endeavours such as painting and DIY projects. She spends much of her winters in the rink watching her kids play hockey and her summers on the lake with her family.

bottom of page